Women's Cross Country

About the Program
The women's cross-country team at Bowdoin College was instituted in 1976, and gained immediate national respect. The participation of future-Olympic champion Joan Benoit '79, and three- time All-American Jane Petrick '82 established the Polar Bears as one of the premier programs in New England and the country.

In recent years, the Polar Bears have competed well in the NESCAC- one of the most competitive conferences in the nation- and have run well at the New England Championship meets. In 2003, Libby Barney was named as the NCAA's Woman of the Year for the State of Maine, exhibiting the exceptional balance between academics and athletics that Bowdoin offers.

For more information on the program, click HERE.

2007 Recap
The Polar Bears had a breakout season in the fall of 2007, posting their best campaign in years. Bowdoin won four events, including the Maine State Championship, placed third at the New England Small College Athletic Conference Championship and earned a trip to the NCAA Meet with a third-place showing at the New England Regional. At NCAA's, Bowdoin placed 27th overall.

Individually, the Polar Bears were led by the consistency of Laura Onderko, who claimed victories at the Colby, Farmington and Maine State meets. First-year Yasmine White came on strong at the end of the season, placing third at NESCAC's to earn First-Team All-Conference and Rookie of the Year recognition.

The Bowdoin College cross-country teams take full advantage of the natural beauty that Maine provides. To view the Polar Bear's home course, click HERE. For a complete list of training sites, click HERE.


Student Life: Athletics: Teams

Women's Cross Country Coaching Staff

Head coach: Peter Slovenski
Assistant coaches: Oscar Duncan

In the fall of 2007, Peter Slovenski will begin his 22nd season as the head coach of the men's and women's cross country, men's and women's indoor track & Field, and men's and women's outdoor track & field teams.

Slovenski has led the men's cross country team to the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Championship in 1991, 2001 and 2002. In 1994, the women's cross country team became the first team in Bowdoin history to qualify for a NCAA Division III Championship, and the Polar Bears recorded a seventh-place finish. Since 1989, Men's and Women's Cross Country and Track teams have won seven NESCAC championships, three ECAC championships and one New England championship.

"There is an impressive collaboration between the academic and athletic efforts of Bowdoin students," according to Coach Slovenski. "The same discipline and commitment that makes Bowdoin athletes excel in regional and national athletic competition also makes them excel in the classroom."

Slovenski has coached nearly 50 All-Americans at Bowdoin and served as the meet director for the 1989 and 1993 NCAA Division III Indoor Track & Field Championships hosted by Bowdoin.

Slovenski is a 1979 graduate of Dartmouth College, where he was a four-year letterwinner in winter and spring track. He set freshman records in the decathlon and pole vault and was an All-Ivy track selection in the pole vault in 1977 and 1978. He received an M.A. in educational administration and policy analysis from Stanford University in 1980.

To contact Coach Slovenski, you can email him at pslovens@bowdoin.edu .

Student Life: Athletics: Teams

Women's Cross Country Roster

Name Year Hometown/School
Alyssa Chase 09 London, England
Courtney Martin 09 Hermon, Maine
Anne Monjar 09 Wilmette, Ill.
Lindsey Schickner 09 Norwich, Vt.
Lindsay Hodge 10 London, England
Claire Williams 10 Tolland, Conn.
Christina Argueta 11 New York, N.Y.
Holly Jacobson 11 Cumberland, Maine
Grace Kerr 11 South Hamilton, Mass.
Anneka Nelson 11 Davis, Calif.
Laura Newcomb 11 Cranford, N.J.
Esther Sosa 11 Brooklyn, N.Y.
Shirley Wu 11 Temple City, Calif.
Anna Ackerman 12 Augusta, Maine
Maren Askins 12 Bangor, Maine
Chantal Croteau 12 Amherst, N.H.
Kathryn Deneroff 12 Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Lindsey Horowitz 12 Stow, Mass.
Tanu Kumar 12 Cabin John, Md.
Michelle Lawson 12 Seattle, Wash.
Hillary Smyth 12 Hollis, N.H.
Skyler Walley 12 New York, N.Y.
Valerie Wirtschafter 12 Beverly Hills, Calif.

Head Coach: Peter Slovenski
Assistant Coaches: Oscar Duncan
Team Captains: Courtney Martin, Anne Monjar
Student Life: Athletics: Teams

 Women's Cross Country Schedule

Date/TimeOpponent Score
09/13/2008,  12:30PMat Tufts 4th/9
09/27/2008,  12:00PMat Conn. College CANCELED
10/04/2008,  TBAat Maine-Farmington 1st/3
10/11/2008,  11:00AMat Open N.E.'s (Franklin Park) 21st/45
10/18/2008,  2:00PMat State Meet (Twin Brooks) 
11/01/2008,  12:00PMat NESCAC's (Bates) 
11/15/2008,  11:00AMat N.E. D-III's (Williams) 
11/22/2008,  11:00AMat NCAA's (Hanover, Ind.) 
Student Life: Athletics: Teams

Women's Cross Country Releases

Date Posted Title
10/31/2007,  9:00AM NESCAC Announces All-Conference Honors
01/05/2005,  3:30PM Joan Benoit Samuelson Honored by NCAA
11/21/2003,  12:30PM Academic All-NESCAC Honors
11/07/2003,  9:30AM Palmer Earns All-NESCAC Honors
09/17/2003,  11:00AM Polar Bear Women Ranked
09/10/2003,  2:30PM 2003 Cross-Country Preview
11/19/2002,  8:00AM Cross-Country Teams Prep For Nationals
11/18/2002,  8:00AM All-Academic NESCAC Team
11/08/2002,  8:00AM All-NESCAC Cross-Country Team
10/31/2002,  8:00AM NESCAC Championship Preview
12/12/2001,  8:00AM Fall Captains Announced
Student Life: Athletics: Teams

Women's Cross Country : Previous Seasons

The seasons listed below are represented by the year in which the given season started. Thus, Winter sports that may have the bulk of their events played in the following year are still listed by the year in which they began. For archived statistics, go to the Almanac/History page.

Previous seasons: 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1991, 1990