2008 National Champions!

The Polar Bears join the College of New Jersey (1990-91, '95-'96), Cortland State (1993-94) and Salisbury University (2003-05) as the only schools to win repeat NCAA crowns in field hockey. Sunday's contest was the third this season between the NESCAC rivals, as the squads split the first two meetings. Tufts' (19-2) only losses this year were to Bowdoin.




2007 National Champions!

The Bowdoin College field hockey team completed the 7th perfect season in Division III history, capturing Bowdoin’s first-ever NCAA Championship with a 4-3 victory over Middlebury on Saturday at Ursinus College in Collegeville, PA.

The Polar Bears, who were making their third trip to the NCAA "Final Four" and their first-ever trip to the title game, finish the year with an astonishing 76-6 goal differential and a school-record 20 victories against no losses. They are the first unbeaten NCAA Champions since Salisbury in 2004.

Members of the team, who arrived back on campus at 1:00 a.m. Sunday, were greeted by a throng of enthusiastic students, faculty, and staff who braved chilly temperatures to help celebrate the team’s success.

Browse this collection of images for a glimpse of the national championship game and Sunday morning’s campus celebration.

Images courtesy of Bowdoin College, Al Zacharka and Kinematic Photography, and Alex Cornell du Houx ‘06

Additional photos of the first half and second half are available for viewing and purchase on the Kinematics web site.

enlarge this imageClick image to enlarge…

« Back