Faculty-Staff Digest - (04/14/2014  @ 3:13 PM)

ANNOUNCING the Winners of the 2014 English Department Writing Prizes (Laurie Holland)

Each year, Bowdoin students submit their works of poetry, fiction, and non-fiction in competition for the English Department Writing Prizes. Over 70 submissions were received this year.

Congratulations to this year's winners:

Academy of American Poets Prize for best group of poems: Raisa Tolchinsky ’17

Philip Henry Brown Prize for extemporaneous composition: Monica Das ’14

Hawthorne Prize for best short story by a sophomore, junior, or senior: Stephanie Lane ’15

Nathalie Walker Llewellyn Prize for best work of original poetry: Owen Haney ’14

Non-Fiction Prize for best work of creative non-fiction by an undergraduate: Danielle Freeman ’17

Poetry Prize for best poem evocative of life at Bowdoin: Violet Ranson ’16

Pray English Prize to a senior for excellence in English literature scholarship and original English composition: Erica Berry ’14

Forbes Rickard Jr. Poetry Prize for best work of original poetry: Alexander Cheston ’16

David Sewall Premium to a member of the first-year class: Hassaan Mirza ’17

Mary B. Sinkinson Short Story Prize to a member of the junior or senior class: Amanda Minoff ’14

Bertram Louis Smith Jr. Prize for excellence in scholarship to a member of the junior class who has completed two years’ work in English literature: Molly MacVeagh ’15