Faculty and Staff

David Carlon
Associate Professor of Biology, Director of the Bowdoin College Coastal Studies Center
dcarlon@bowdoin.edu
207-798-4364

Steven Allen
Assistant Director, Coastal Studies Center
sallen@bowdoin.edu
207-721-5906

Rosemary Armstrong 
Program Coordinator, Coastal Studies Center
Contact Rosemary (Rosie) to make reservations at the Coastal Studies Center
rarmstro@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3396

Captain Paul Joyce
Marine Operations Manager
pjoyce@bowdoin.edu
Office:207-721-5904  Cell:207-837-2426

Joe Tourtelotte
Caretaker
jtourtel@bowdoin.edu
Office: 207-721-5900 Cell: 207-837-5422

Elizabeth Walker
Laboratory Instructor
ewalker2@bowdoin.edu
207-721-5902

Marko Melendy
         Animal Care Supervisor
         mmelendy@bowdoin.edu


Jim Willams
        USCG Boat Captain
        jwilliam@bowdoin.edu


Alana Luzzio
        Marine Lab Technician
        aluzzio@bowdoin.edu


Contributing Faculty

Barbara (Bobbie) Lyon
Coastal Studies Scholar, Biology
Amy Johnson
James R. and Helen Lee Billingsley Professor of Marine Biology
Biomechanics, functional morphology and ecophysiology of marine invertebrates and algae; mechanisms and modeling of growth of sea urchins, scaling of metabolic rate
Sarah Kingston
Visiting Assistant Professor in Biology
Michéle LaVigne 
Assistant Professor of Earth and Oceanographic Science
Marine biogeochemisty, paleoceanography, rapid climate change
John Lichter
Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies
Community and ecosystem ecology, biogeochemistry, global change
Collin Roesler
Associate Professor of Earth and Oceanographic Science
Biological oceanography, plankton dynamics, remote sensing and optical properties of seawater
Patsy Dickinson (on leave for the 2017-18 academic year)
         Josiah Little Professor of Natural Sciences 
         Physiology and Neuroscience
Sarah McMahon
Associate Professor of History