Academic Calendar 2007 - 2008

*Tentative—Subject to change*

2007  
August 21-25, Tues.-Sat. Pre-Orientation Trips
August 25, Saturday College housing ready for occupancy for first-year students only, 8:00 a.m.
August 25-29, Sat.-Wed. Orientation
August 28, Tuesday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, 8:00 a.m.
August 29, Wednesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
August 30, Thursday Fall semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
September 3, Monday Labor Day, classes in session (College holiday, many offices closed)
September 12-14, Wed.-Fri. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sunset on Sept. 12 and concludes at sunset on Sept. 14
September 13, Thursday Ramadan begins at first light
September 15, Saturday Common Good Day
September 21-22, Fri.-Sat. Yom Kippur, begins at sunset on Sept. 21 and concludes at sunset on Sept. 22
September 27-29, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
October 5, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class; Note: Columbus Day is Monday, Oct. 8
October 10, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 11-13, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 12-14, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 26, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 26-28, Fri.-Sun. Parents Weekend
October 13, Saturday Ramadan ends at last light
November 21, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m.* (Nov. 21-23: College holidays, many offices closed)
November 26, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 7, Friday Last day of classes
December 8-11, Sat.-Tues. Reading period
December 12-17, Wed.-Mon. Fall semester examinations
December 18, Tuesday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 24, Monday Christmas Eve Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
December 25, Tuesday Christmas Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
December 31, Monday New Year's Eve Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
   
2008  
January 1, Tuesday New Year's Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
January 19, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 21, Monday Spring semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
January 21, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, classes in session (College holiday, many offices closed)
February 7-9, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
February 18, Monday Presidents' Day, classes in session (College holiday, many offices closed)
March 7, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 8, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 21, Friday Good Friday
March 22, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 23, Sunday Easter
March 24, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
April 3-5, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
April 19-27, Sat.-Sun. Passover, begins at sunset on April 19 and concludes at sunset on April 27
May 7, Wednesday Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 8-11, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
May 8-10, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 12-17, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 18, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 23, Friday Baccalaureate
May 24, Saturday The 203rd Commencement Exercises
May 24, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
May 26, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
May 29-June 1, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend
July 4, Friday Fourth of July Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
   
Notes:
Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is open.
*Wednesday, November 21 classes will be rescheduled on a class-by-class basis by the course instructor.