Academic Affairs

Spring 2010

Faculty Seminar Series

Spring 2010


  • Wed., Feb. 3, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Raymond Miller (Russian)
    "Deconstructing Nationalism: Perceptions of Russia in Austria in the 1800s."
  • Tues., Feb. 9, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Rachel Beane (Geology)
    "Mineral Lattice Insights into Earthquake Generating Faults, Volcanic Magma Chambers, and Martian Meteorites."
  • Wed., Feb. 17, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Connie Chiang (History and Environmental Studies)
    "Nature Behind Barbed Wire: Toward an Environmental History of the World War II Japanese American Incarceration."
  • Wed., Feb. 24, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Lancaster Lounge, Moulton Union
    Nestor Gil (Art)
    "All Together Now! Toward Microtopia in Art Practice and Pedegogy."
  • Tues., March 2, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Michael Kolster (Art) and Laura Voss (Chemistry)
    "Pecha Kucha Presentations as a Teaching Tool."
  • Wed., March 10, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    David Gordon (History)
    "Spirits and Alternative Sovereignties in Central Africa."
  • Wed., March 31, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Peter Coviello (English)
    "How to Do Things with Joy."
  • Wed., April 7, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Guillermo "Ta" Herrera (Economics) and John Lichter (Biology and Environmental Studies)
    "Ecological and Economic Recivery of Our Rivers, Estuary, and Nearshore Environment."
  • Tues., April 13, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Eric Chown (Computer Science)
    "The Coming Robot Apocalypse, Phase II: Cognition"
  • Wed., April 21, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Jane Knox-Voina (Russian)
    "National Identity Politics:'Is it Easy to Be Young in Kazakhstan?'"
  • Tues., April 27, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Jane Brox (English)
    "Writing About Place."
  • Tues., May 4, 12:00-1:00 p.m.; Main Lounge, Moulton Union
    Rachel Sturman (History and Asian Studies)
    "Indian Indentured Labor Migration: Citizenship and the Question of Emancipation."