Academic Affairs

Faculty Seminar Series

Fall 2014

12:00 - 1:00 p.m., Main Lounge, Moulton Union
Open to Faculty and Staff
Subject to Change

 

Wed., Sept. 10  Mary Lou Zeeman (Mathematics) 
 “Harnessing Math to Understand Tipping Points and Resilience” 

Tues., Sept. 16  David Hecht (History) 
 “The Power of Metaphor:  Evolution, Economics, and The Selfish Gene

Wed., Sept. 24  Jeffrey Selinger (Government) 
“Too Polarized? Too Sensitive:  Historical Lessons for a Divided America” 

Wed., Oct. 1  Judith Casselberry (Africana Studies) 
 “Harvesting Souls for Christ:  Black Pentecostal Women’s Labor
at the Altar”

Tues., Oct. 7  Jack O’Brien (Mathematics) 
 “Measuring Mixtures of Malaria:  Statistics in the Battle Against Humanity’s Greatest Plague”

Tues., Oct. 21   Charlotte Griffin (Dance) 
 “Kaboom:  The Making of a Contemporary Ballet”
 
Wed., Oct. 29   John Fitzgerald (Economics) 
 “Public Assistance and Long Run Outcomes for Children”

Tues., Nov. 4  Dharni Vasudevan (Chemistry) 
 “Contaminants in the Environment:  Factors Influencing Chemical Fate, Effects, and Policies”
 
Wed., Nov. 12  Michael Birenbaum Quintero (Music) 
“Teófilio Potes and the Counter-History of Black Politics in Colombia”

Tues., Nov. 18   Abigail Killeen (Theater)   
 “Words Made Flesh:  How the Art of the Theater Serves the Liberal Arts by Embodying Thought”

Wed., Dec. 3  Erik Nelson (Economics) 
“Explaining Trends in the Phylogenetic Diversity and Richness of Food Production and Consumption Around the Globe”

Tues., Dec. 9  Ben Gorske (Chemistry) 
  “TBA”