Academic Affairs

Seminars and Colloquia on Teaching

Fall 2008

Main Lounge, Moulton Union
12:00-1:00 p.m.
Except where noted
Only open to faculty and staff
Subject to Change

Wed., Sept. 17  John Fitzgerald (Economics)
“Welfare Reform in New Zealand: A Yank Asks Inconvenient Questions” 

☼Tues., Sept. 23 Craig McEwen  (Sociology and Anthropology / The Joseph McKeen Center for the Common Good)
“Waiting for Section 8” 

☼Tues., Sept. 30  De-nin Lee (Art History)
“The Brahmin’s Invitation and the Buddha’s Incantation:the Reliquary-sealing Dharani Sutra in the Bowdoin College Museum of Art”
Lancaster Lounge

☼Tues., Oct. 7  William Watterson (English)
“Shakespeare's Arcadian Scaffold: Romance, Politics, and the Pastoral in As You Like It” 

Wed., Oct. 22  Nadia Celis (Romance Languages)
“TBA” 

Wed., Oct. 29  Nat Wheelwright (Biology)
“Teaching Ecology in Raul's Cuba” 

Wed., Nov. 5   Rachel Connelly (Economics and The Center for Learning and Teaching), Lesley Levy (Dean for Student Affairs) and  Doris Santoro (Education)
“A Pedagogical Discussion about Student Accommodations” 
Lancaster Lounge 

Wed., Nov. 12 Chuck Dorn (Education) and Jennifer Scanlon (Gender and Women’s Studies)
“A Pedagogical Discussion about Academic Preparedness”  

Wed., Nov. 19  Mary Agnes Edsall (English)
“Cooking Up a Tale: Food, Foolery, and the Tricksters of the Fabliaux” 

Wed., Dec. 3   To Be Announced 

Wed., Dec. 10    Rachel Connelly (Economics / The Center for Learning and Teaching), David Hecht (History / First Year  Seminar Coordinator) and Kathleen O’Connor (Education / The Writing Project)
“First Year Seminars and the First Year Experiences:  A Pedagogical Discussion about Advising, Support and Curricular Policy”
1:00 p.m.