Academic Affairs

Academic Calendar: 2015 - 2016 Proposed

214th Academic Year

2015  
August 25, Tuesday First Year arrival day
August 26-29, Wed.-Sat. Orientation Trips
August 29-Sept. 2, Sat.-Wed. Orientation
September 1, Tuesday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, 8:00 a.m.
September 2, Wednesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
September 3, Thursday Fall semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
September 7, Monday Labor Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
September 13-15, Sun-Tues. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 13 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 15
September 17-19, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
September 19, Saturday Common Good Day
September 22-23, Tues-Wed. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Sept. 22 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 23
October 9, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class; Note: Columbus Day is Monday, Oct. 12
October 14, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 15-17, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 16-18, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 30, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 30-November 1, Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
November 25, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m.* (November 25-27: College holidays, many offices closed)
November 30, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 11, Friday Last day of classes
December 12-15, Sat.- Tues. Reading period
December 16-21, Wed.- Mon. Fall semester examinations
December 22, Tuesday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 24, Thursday Christmas Eve Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
December 25, Friday Christmas Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
December 31, Thursday New Year's Eve Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)
 
2016  
January 1, Friday New Year's Day Holiday (College Holiday, many offices closed)
January 18, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
January 23, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 25, Monday Spring semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
February 4-6, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
February 15, Monday Presidents' Day, classes in session (College holiday, some offices closed)
March 11, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 12, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 25, Friday Good Friday
March 26, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 27, Sunday Easter
March 28, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
March 31-Apr. 2, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
April 22-30, Fri.- Sat. Passover, begins at sundown on April 22 and concludes at sundown on April 30
May 11, Wednesday Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 12-14, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 12-15, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
May 16-21, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 22, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 27, Friday Baccalaureate
May 28, Saturday The 211th Commencement Exercises
May 28, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
May 30, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
June 2-5, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend
July 4, Monday Fourth of July Holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)
   
Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is closed.
*Wednesday, November 25 classes will be rescheduled on a class-by-class basis by the course instructor.