Academic Affairs

Academic Calendar: 2012 - 2013

211th Academic Year 

2012
August 21-25, Tues.-Sat. Orientation Trips, all first-year students arrive on campus on Aug. 21
August 25-29, Sat.-Wed. Orientation
August 28, Tuesday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, 8:00 a.m.
August 29, Wednesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
August 30, Thursday Fall semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
September 3, Monday Labor Day, classes in session (College holiday, some offices closed)
September 13-15, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
September 15, Saturday Common Good Day
September 16-18, Sun.-Tues. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sunset on Sept. 16 and concludes at sunset on Sept. 18
September 25-26, Tues.-Wed. Yom Kippur, begins at sunset on Sept. 25 and concludes at sunset on Sept. 26
September 28, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
September 28-30, Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
October 5, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class; Note: Columbus Day is Monday, Oct. 8
October 10, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 18-20, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 19-21, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
November 21, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m.* (November 21-23: College holidays, many offices closed)
November 26, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 7, Friday Last day of classes
December 8-11, Sat.-Tues. Reading period
December 12-17, Wed.-Mon. Fall semester examinations
December 18, Tuesday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 24, Monday Christmas Eve Holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)
December 25, Tuesday Christmas Holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)
December 31, Monday New Year's Eve Holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)
 
2013  
January 1, Tuesday New Year's Day Holiday observed (College Holiday, many offices closed)
January 19, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 21, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
January 21, Monday Spring semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
February 7-9, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
February 18, Monday Presidents' Day, classes in session (College holiday, some offices closed)
March 8, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 9, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 23, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 25, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
March 25-April 2, Mon.-Tues. Passover, begins at sunset on March 25 and concludes at sunset on April 2
March 29, Friday Good Friday
March 31, Sunday Easter
April 4-6, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
May 8, Wednesday Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 9-11, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 9-12, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
May 13-18, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 19, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 24, Friday Baccalaureate
May 25, Saturday The 208th Commencement Exercises
May 25, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
May 27, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
May 30-June 2, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend
July 4, Thursday Fourth of July Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)

Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is closed.  

*Wednesday, November 21 classes will be rescheduled on a class-by-class basis by the course instructor.

Academic Calendar