216th Academic Year

2017  
August 22, Tuesday First Year arrival day
August 23-26, Wed.-Sat. Orientation Trips
August 26-Aug. 29, Sat.-Tues.. Orientation
August 27, Sunday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
August 29, Tuesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
August 30, Wednesday Fall semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m. 
August 31-Sept. 1, Thurs.-Fri. Eid al-Adha, begins at sunset on Aug. 31 and concludes at sunset on Sept. 1
September 4, Monday Labor Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
September 14-16, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
September 16, Saturday Common Good Day
Sept. 20-22, Wed.-Sat. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sunset on Sept. 20 and concludes at sunset on Sept. 22
Sept. 29-30, Fri.-Sat. Yom Kippur, begins at sunset on Sept. 29 and concludes at sunset on Sept. 30
October 6, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class
October 11, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 12-14, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 13-15, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 27, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 27-28, Fri.-Sat. Family Weekend
November 22, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m. (November 22-24: College holidays, many offices closed)
November 27, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 8, Friday Last day of classes
December 9-12, Sat.- Tues. Reading period
December 13-18, Wed.- Mon. Fall semester examinations
December 19, Tuesday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 25 -29, Mon.-Fri. College holidays, many offices closed
 
2018  
January 1, Monday New Year's Day Holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)
January 15, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
January 20, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 22, Monday Spring semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
February 8-10, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
February 19, Monday Presidents' Day, (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
March 9, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 10, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 24, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 26, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
March 30, Friday Good Friday
March 30-Apr. 7, Fri.-Sat. Passover, begins at sunset on March 30 and concludes at sunset on April 7
April 1, Sunday Easter
April 5-7, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
May 9, Wednesday Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 10-12, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 10-13, Thurs.-Sun. Reading Period
May 14-19, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 16, Wednesday Ramadan, begins at first light on May 16 and concludes at last light on June 15
May 20, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 25, Friday Baccalaureate
May 26, Saturday The 213th Commencement Exercises
May 26, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
May 28, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
May 31-June 3, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend
July 4, Wednesday Fourth of July Holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)
Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is closed.